Trogir, a harmonious stone town on a small island that is connected to the mainland and the island of Čiovo by bridges. The old town, under UNESCO protection, is a treasure trove for lovers of art, Renaissance and Baroque buildings, Romanesque churches. It is called the town-museum which is visible in the famous portal of Trogir cathedral by the craftsman Radovan in 1240, a Renaissance city lodge, the thousand year old Monastery of sv. Nikola, which has the ancient famous relief of Kairos preserved in it from the 4th century BC.
In the past, the town was one of the cultural centers of Dalmatia: in the 13th century enriched with the master works of master Radovan and Ivan Lucius, who filled the town with famous sculptors, architectures and paintings. The Radovan Portal was finished in 1240, and is a unique monumental work of this great Croatian artist, of whom the inscription on the base of the lunette says he is “the best of all in this artisanship”.
The old town core has been formed between the 13th and 15th century inside defense walls that were restored by Venice in the 15th century. They also added two forts that are still preserved: Castle Kamerlengo and the Tower of Saint Marc. Castle Kamerlengo is situated in the south-west side of the island. Its present shape is in the exact state as it was in the 15th century. South of the castle is the tower of Saint Marc also from the 15th century, and between the tower and the castle there is a gloriet from the time of the French occupation. The eastern part of the town has developed around the main square with the cathedral. The western part named Pasika, was built later in the century.
The small, narrow streets and small village squares, numerous restaurants, cafes, souvenir shops and galleries, along with numerous cultural and music open air events give this town a special atmosphere of the Mediterranean.